the beginning

In my life time I have been raised and encouraged to serve in the church community. I have been given a gracious family that encourages me in all positive endeavors. Serving and being given the opportunity to serve seems to be presented to me in many different ways, whether I have the heart to do so or not. This may be a struggle of self for many others, as it is for me but I find that the Love that only the Lord can give encourages and reminds me to be a servant.

An opportunity to serve has always been available at Delaware Valley’s Camp Manatawny. In 2005, I had attended the camp for five years and decided it was my time to give back and serve. I served my dad who was at that time directing the camp’s Junior High retreat. I planned for a normal weekend making my break through as the next cool counselor but it was a different beginning for me.

Prior to the retreat my youth minister, who assisted my dad, asked me to visit him. As we sat in his office discussing plans for the retreat he brought up Mike Lewis and told me of his work, painting portraits of Jesus during a worship service. I sat and thought to myself, “I can do that,” and little did I know that he would ask me if I felt comfortable enough to do that at the retreat. Quickly I said, “That I would give it a try,” unsure if I was capable. Later that week I purchased a few canvases and gave it a try.

From then on, I have been blessed to continue my work serving and worshiping God with my talents. Hopefully, with my work I have touched the lives of others by giving them another way to sit at the feet of Jesus.

Ben Williams

~ by impressionsofjesus on 20 May 2007.

One Response to “the beginning”

  1. I really like your blog…nice and clean looking.

    I’ll definitely visit it once in a while. 🙂 Keep up the good work…see you at Manatawny! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
